Call for your In-Person Meeting with a Skilled Lawyer
(912) 384-1099
Patrick S. Ferris, Attorney at Law
NFA Class 3 Weapons

Class 3 Trust

Patrick Ferris provides Georgia gun lawyer services for individuals purchasing single guns and those seeking to manage a collection of guns. The National Firearms Act (NFA) mandates that Class III (Class 3) weapons be overseen by a federal agency which is currently the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms (BATF). A gun trust, often referred to as a Class 3 trust, NFA trust, firearm trust, etc., simplifies and lessens the expense of gun collection management. Click here for a detail on the benefits of a gun trust. Patrick Ferris is a Georgia gun trust lawyer who can help you properly acquire ownership of NFA Class III firearms. Call today at (912) 384-1099.

Class III Firearms / NFA Weapons / Title II Weapons

The NFA i Class III firearms / NFA weapons as the following:

Machine guns - this includes any firearm which can fire more than 1 cartridge per trigger pull. Both continuous fully automatic fire and "burst fire" (i.e., firearms with a 3-round burst feature) are considered machine gun features. The weapon's receiver is by itself considered to be a regulated firearm.

Short-barreled rifles (SBRs) - this category includes any firearm with a buttstock and either a rifled barrel under 16" long or an overall length under 26". The overall length is measured with any folding or collapsing stocks in the extended position. The category also includes firearms which came from the factory with a buttstock that was later removed by a third party.

Short barreled shotguns (SBSs) - this category is defined similarly to SBRs, but the barrel must be at least 18" instead of 16", and the barrel must be a smoothbore. The minimum overall length limit remains 26".

Silencers - this includes any portable device designed to muffle or disguise the report of a portable firearm. This category does not include non-portable devices, such as sound traps used by gunsmiths in their shops which are large and usually bolted to the floor.

Destructive Devices (DDs) - there are two broad classes of destructive devices:

  1. Devices such as grenades, bombs, explosive missiles, poison gas weapons, etc.
  2. Any firearm with a bore over 0.50 except for shotguns or shotgun shells which have been found to be generally recognized as particularly suitable for sporting purposes. (Many firearms with bores over 0.50", such as 12-gauge shotguns, are exempted from the law because they have been determined to have a "legitimate sporting use".)

Any Other Weapons (AOWs) - this is a broad "catch-all" category used to regulate any number of firearms which the BATFE under the NFA enforces registration and taxation. Examples include, among others:

  1. Smooth-bore pistols
  2. Pen guns and cane guns
  3. A firearm with combinations smooth bore and rifle barrels 12 inches or more but less than 18 inches in length from which only a single shot can be made from either barrel.
  4. Disguised firearms
  5. Firearms that can be fired from within a wallet holster or a briefcase
  6. A short-barreled shotgun which came from the factory with a pistol grip and no buttstock is categorized as an AOW (smooth-bore pistol) rather than a Short Barrel Shotgun (SBS), because the Gun Control Act describes a shotgun as, "…designed or redesigned to be fired from the shoulder..."
  7. Handguns with a forward vertical grip.

For more information, consult the following resources: